Skip to content
1 Apr

Object of the Month

The Yorkshire Cricket Foundation object of the month returns for April. This month we focus on the Championship Pennant.

The pennant has been awarded to the county champions since 1951, when Warwickshire was the first county to host it.

It bears the names and emblems of the first-class counties, the sponsors and of course prominence is given to the victorious county.

In addition to the trophy and medals awarded to the winners, the champions are permitted to fly the Championship Pennant from their county headquarters. It may be argued that the right to fly the pennant is perceived by the cricket community as being more important than any cup.

Yorkshire has been the champion county (officially and unofficially) a record number of times (34) with two shared, and the pennant has been flown at Headingley ten times since its introduction, but only three times since 1968.

In 2014 and 2015 Yorkshire won back-to-back titles for the first time since the 1960s and both pennants may be seen in the Yorkshire Cricket Museum.


comments powered by Disqus
Prev storyNext story