Skip to content
10 Jul

Drax Cup Finals Day At Headingley

This year’s Drax Cup final is set to be one of the most fiercely contested ever, with three of the four teams back at Headingley and hoping to lift the trophy for the first time.

The line-up includes Driffield Junior School, in the final for the fourth year in a row, 2014 runners-up Lingfield Primary from Middlesbrough, and Greenhill Primary from Sheffield who came fourth in 2013. Highburton First School from Huddersfield are making their first appearance at Headingley.

The finals take place this this week (Friday 10 July) with the teams taking to the pitch ahead of Yorkshire Vikings v Durham Jets in the NatWest T20 Blast.

The Drax Cup is the biggest cricket competition for under 9s in the country with schools playing in a series of events to produce four area winners from the North, South, East and West.

East area winners for an incredible four years running, Driffield have missed out on the cup at three attempts, finishing second, third and fourth consecutively. They are desperately hoping that 2015 will be their year!

Greenhill were South area champions in 2013 and return to Headingley after narrowly missing a finals place last year to Shawlands from Barnsley, who went on to be crowned Drax Cup champions, beating Lingfield, who believe they can go one better than last year.

Newcomers Highburton are hoping it will be a case of first time lucky!

Ann Gray, who co-ordinates the Drax Cup as part of the company’s Cricket in the Community scheme in primary schools, said: “The Drax Cup is in its ninth year and those schools with a strong track record in cricket are really starting to shine through. The standard of play from each of the area finalists has been stronger than ever – we’re looking forward to a thrilling final!”

This year around 600 schools across Yorkshire and Teesside registered for the 2015 Drax Cup. It is sponsored by Drax and organised by The Yorkshire County Cricket Club in conjunction with The Yorkshire Cricket Board, The Yorkshire Cricket Foundation and The Yorkshire Schools’ Cricket Association.


comments powered by Disqus
Prev storyNext story