Skip to content
14 Jul

Greenhill Are 2015 Drax Cup Champions!

Greenhill Primary School from Sheffield are the 2015 Drax Cup champions.

The team lifted the trophy in the finals of the country’s biggest cricket competition for under 9s at Headingley last week (Friday 10 July).

It was the second time in three years that Greenhill had reached the finals, where they finished third in 2013.

Greenhill were one of four regional winners competing for the Drax Cup at the famous cricket ground in Leeds. Drawn to face Highburton First School from Huddersfield in the semi-finals, the Sheffield school held their nerve to win a close game by six runs (161-167) and set up a final with Driffield Junior, playing at Headingley for the fourth year in succession, who beat Lingfield Primary from Middlesbrough (186-124).

Greenhill maintained their impressive batting performance to score 181 which, despite some equally strong batting from Driffield including two sixes in the final over, proved too much for the East Yorkshire side who finished on 170.

The play-off for third and fourth place was won by Lingfield 144-160.

The Drax Cup trophy and medals were presented by Katherine Brunt, England strike bowler and a member of the Ashes squad this year, and Yorkshire bowling legend Ryan Sidebottom, who both also posed for team photos on the pitch with fellow Drax Cup ambassador Will Rhodes.

The four schools played the finals prior to Yorkshire Vikings v Durham Jets in the NatWest T20 Blast. In the pre-match build-up Driffield enjoyed a consolation victory, beating Greenhill in a relay race around the boundary with Yorkshire’s mascot Vinny the Viking and Ronnie the Rhino from the Leeds rugby league team.

This year has been a record breaker for the Drax Cup with for the first time more than 600 schools from Yorkshire and Teesside registered for the competition and more than 530 teams taking part in some 66 events.

The Drax Cup is sponsored by Drax and organised by The Yorkshire County Cricket Club in conjunction with The Yorkshire Cricket Board, The Yorkshire Cricket Foundation and The Yorkshire Schools’ Cricket Association.


comments powered by Disqus
Prev storyNext story