Skip to content

Yorkshire

Cricket Foundation

Walking Cricket

Walking Cricket makes the traditional game of cricket accessible to those who identity as older adults.

Walking Cricket, developed as a new concept in 2019, is a project that makes cricket accessible to those who identify as older adults, are semi – retired or retired, by tailoring the traditional game of Cricket to suit those with less mobility and by catering for different abilities. The project was formed by a partnership with the University of the third age (U3A) and the Yorkshire Cricket Foundation (YCF).

What makes it different? Simply put: there is no running allowed (and it’s played with a softer ball too).

Walking Cricket was trialed in early 2019 in Barnsley and now has two fully functioning sessions running in Barnsley every two weeks and in Doncaster every two weeks.

The group take it in turns to score, umpire and play, so each individual is learning new skills and keeping both their mind and their bodies active.

Now the concept has been trialed and proved to be successful, the YCF and U3A are hoping to expand across Yorkshire, focusing on Rotherham, Wakefield, York and Sheffield next….Watch this space!

Please see below walking cricket session information and get in touch with Mac or Chris below if you are or know anyone or group that might be interested in giving walking cricket a go.
The cost to take part is just £3.00 per person per session to cover cost of the venue and equipment.

Doncaster Walking Cricket:

Contact: Chris via c.j.woolven@googlemail.com

Time: 1.30 – 3.30pm
Address: Goals Doncaster, Worcester Avenue, Wheatley, Doncaster, DN2 4NB.

Dates:

Tuesday 18th June
Monday 24th June
Tuesday 2nd July
Monday 22nd July
Tuesday 6th August
Monday 26th August

The sessions will continue as above and will occur every 1st Tuesday of the month and every 4th Monday of the month

To find out more about U3A Doncaster, visit their website by Clicking here

Barnsley Walking Cricket:

Contact: Mac McKechnie via mckechnie31@btinternet.com
Time: 10.00 – 12.00pm
Address: Dodworth Miners Welfare Club, 45a High Street Barnsley, S75 3RF

Dates:

Wednesday 12th June
Thursday 20th June
Wednesday 26th June
Thursday 4th July
Wednesday 10th July
Thursday 18th July
Wednesday 24th July

Then continuing every week, alternating Wednesday and Thursdays each week

To find out more about U3A Barnsley and District, visit their website by Clicking here


For YCF participation enquiries, contact Kendal:
Kendal.James@yorkshirecricketfoundation.com